About Us

The Krewe of Little Rascals was formed in 1983 by Jack and Maureen Spittler, who wanted to give the children of the New Orleans area their own unique Mardi Gras experience. Dr. Alton Ochsner, one of our original advisors, suggested that the Krewe of Little Rascals should be fashioned in such a way that it would not only inspire youth and help perpetuate the Mardi Gras tradition, but it should also include as many youth as possible, regardless of their physical, financial or ethnic background.

This thought has been the rule and guide for the Krewe ever since and has been one of the chief reasons for the national and international attention that this Krewe has enjoyed.

Our efforts center on the Mardi Gras season and provide an opportunity for all children to participate in a fun-filled youth organization where they can just be kids. Each child can enjoy supervised activities that include being presented as a member at our annual Coronation Ball, where the year’s King and Queen are announced, then participation in a traditional formal Tableau Ball which features a live orchestra and is patterned after the adult carnival balls.

Two days after the ball, the children ride on beautifully decorated 40’ double-decker floats in a four-mile street parade which has grown to 85+ units and over 300,000 spectators.

The History of The Krewe of Little Rascals

The Little Rascals Ball

The Little Rascals Parade

Grand Marshals

2008, 2009. 2010, Greg Cipes of Cipes and The People, a Reggae/Pop/Rock band from Los Angeles, CA, has participated as our Grand Marshal. All 3 years they played at the Children’s Hospital for a group of children that were unable to leave the hospital and attend our functions. They also performed & did an interview about their group and their experience with The Krewe of Little Rascals (CBS in 2008 & NBC in 2009). Greg will return to the Krewe of Little Rascals for our 30th year, 2013.

Our past grand marshals have been George ‘Spanky’ McFarland, Michigan J. Fox, Sam Mills, Norman Hand, Brad Edelman, The Bones Brigade, Hunter Hayes, Arden Lo, Morton Anderson, The Navajo Code Talkers, Doug Kershaw, Benny Grunch and many others.